So I’ll be back for good someday to make my life and make my way

I’m back from California now. Unfortunately Marni is the only person who knows where the USB cord is for my Dad’s camera, so…we may have to buy a new one. I’ll post pictures as soon as we get this figured out. Also, this entry will be super long, even for my standards.

We flew to San Diego last Friday, May 4. I had not slept at all. We had an early flight so breakfast at O’Hare was something that needed to happen. The way breakfast works anytime you eat somewhere other than where you live, is McDonald’s or something else. I really did not feel like having McDonald’s so I went in search for something else. To my surprise, The Billy Goat Tavern had two eggs, hasbrowns, and two slices of toast for $3.29. This is a very good deal for an airport, so I went for it, solely because of the price. I decided to go for sunny side up eggs. I was almost finished eating them when I noticed there was a tiny bit that was clear and runny. I know this is not good. So I reluctantly stopped eating them and figured I would be fine.

We got to San Diego around 1pm Pacific time. It was so beautiful, even when we were about to land. We went to get our rental car (my Mom did not want to pay an extra $27/day so I did not do any driving in California). Then I had my first In-N-Out Burger and it was everything I imagined and so much more mmmmm so good. Then we drove to the hotel. I thought I was going to have time to take a little nap before going out, but my Mother decided to defy the GPS that came with the car, over and over again and I wound up not being able to nap at all. And whilke we were driving I really wanted to stick my head out the window like a dog. San Diego is so beautiful I cannot even believe it. We got to the hotel and I am starting to feel a little sick. I figure it is from much lack of sleep. There’s no way it can be from the In-N-Out Burger. I refuse to believe it. It has to be lack of sleep. Then David called and said traffic was bad so it would be a while. I wait for him to come get me and get sicker, but I have to go out, because it would be stupid to stay in, especially when the only reason I am sick is from lack fo sleep, right?

So David gets to the hotel, we go pick up his girlfriend and go to UCSD to get free food. I had several meals already and was full, getting sicker, so I pass on the food. This is a sign I am really sick. I don’t say anything because I figure if I just ignore it I will be fine. Then we head over to a Cinco de Mayo party with more free food. Mexican food. I pass on this too and am getting really really sick. The smell of the food is not helping, and I have on my Campus House hoodie. If you have one you know how tight the neck is. I’m feeling so sick I wind up running out of the party and throwing up on whoseever lawn that was! Fun times! Even though I was feeling really sick, being out in the fresh air was really nice. I’m not a nature person, but I could see myself just spending a lot of time outside in San Diego, even if I was by myself. Anyway, they figure out I’m sick and take me back to the hotel. I feel really bad, one for throwing up on someone’s lawn, two for them having to leave the party early, even though they went right back afterwards. Anyway, I remembered about the eggs and realise I probably have Salmonella. I look on Wikipedia and they did not have the symptoms listed (this will change after I finish writing this entry, but they will probably deleted it)! The computer I was on would not let me get to Web MD, so I had to hunt for it. The only symptom I did not have was a fever, which is strange, because my forehead was so hot. The web site I was on said to see a doctor and the only way to treat it is to drink a lot fo water. Why would I go see a doctor if all they’re going to do is tell me to drink water? So I have been drinking tons of water since then. It did help.

Despite being really sick I got up early Saturday morning to go services with David and his girlfriend. I am feeling a lot better, but still sick. Drinking lots of water. We went to David’s parents’ house after services for lunch and to play some Wii. My Wii bowling score reflects my real life bowling score. Then we went to Children’s Pool/”Seal Beach” and La Jolla Cove. Then we went to Coronado(?) to see the sunset and to Mt. Soledad. After it was dark we went to the Gaslamp Quarter. This place is so cool. And one of the intersections you can cross diagonally. While I’m on the subject, there are a lot of differences between driving in California and driving in Chicago. In California, U-turns are legal in most places. People use their turn signals before changing lanes. Cars stop for pedestrians!! And when lanes are about to merge there are arrows on the street. I am amazed by all of these! Anyway, we went to Hooters since neither David nor Vivian had been before. I am still feeling too sick to eat most foods (I wound up not being well enough to eat Mexican or Asian food during the entire trip. Sucks), but I figure if I limit myself I will be fine. I wound up eating only four wings and I was fine. My main goal in life (okay not really) is to get everyone hooked on Hooters. They both loved it, so now I am 4 for 4 . Afterwards we went to Ghiradelli and I had a hot chocolate with marshmallows. It was really good. In fact, it was so good, after just a few sips I had it again…in reverse. Though I will say this was the best tasting throw up ever. So I ask to be taken back to the hotel. The next day would be Balboa Park, the one thing I had planned and had been looking forward to for two months. Very excited.

Sunday. I got to sleep in a little since I was feeling sick. They came to get me around 2:30 I think. Then we went to pick up David’s friend Sean, also Messianic. We got to Balboa Park around 4:45. The International Cottages close at 5:00 so we had to hoof it. Anyway, it turned out they, and pretty much everything else closed at FOUR. I was really upset. It doesn’t matter now though (see end). After we went to Davids’ parents house again. I never thought I could be knocked over by a Jack Russell Terrior (or any dog that small), but I was very wrong. I only wish I had pictures. A bunch of people came over and we played Wii again. I somehow wound up with a 162, which is especially impressive when someone walks in between the Wii-mote and TV right as you are throwing and you wind up getting a strike. Then we went to Souplantation with a lot of people. There were 10 people and all Messianic except for one. It was a nice change. After dinner we went to a pool hall across the parking lot. David left to take his sisters home and I actually went ahead to the pool hall. This is big for me, because usually if I go somewhere and only know one person I will stay within a few feet of them at all times because I think they are going to leave me, but I felt really comfortable. I played a bunch of games of pool and still sucked, but I did a lot better than I usually do and David did wind up coming back so I did not get left haha. I was starting to feel really sick again. My goal for the day had been to not throw up. I did wind up meeting that goal, but I was still feeling really sick. I was back at the hotel fairly early all three nights. I hung out with more people in San Diego than I have in Mundelein in the past eight years. And I’m not joking either.

Monday I went to check out San Diego State. It was so beautiful. All of San Diego is so beautiful. I was so taken with it the whole time, I just can’t believe it. It’s probably the most beautiful place I have ever been, except Cancun, but I would never want to live in Cancun. Anyway, I loved San Diego State. I loved San Diego.

Then we drove four hours to Bakersfield. There are over 300,000 people in Bakersfield and the only thing to do there is eat. The people only seemed happy in In-N-Out Burger. Although if I was making $9.50/hr I would probably be happy too? I watched Heroes, because there was nothing else to do. I’m glad I watched it though, because Ellen Greene (Audrey from Little Shop of Horrors) was playing Sylar’s mother, and I always wondered what her real voice sounded like.

Tuesday I got a tour of CSU Bakersfield from a Messianic girl I met on Facebook. And when I was there the Messianic population doubled in size. Anyway, when visiting schools there was one thing I kept in mind. When I went to visit Eastern for the first time, President Lou said to look at the students and see if they are happy. After visiting CSUB we drove five hours to the Bay Area. My Mom wanted to stay in Berkeley, I did not, but did not have a choice. We got to the hotel we were supposed to stay at and it was awful, so we had to find another one, which we got to with about five minutes to spare before American Idol came on. I am actually super happy with the top three. Anyway, my Mom and I had the most fights in Berkeley, but I am not going to get into it.

Wednesday I visited Holy Names University in Oakland. Other than being a small school with lots of hills and stairs, I liked it.

Thursday I visited the University of San Francisco. Again, tons and tons of hills and stairs. This one was just arright for me, dawg. The Bay Area didn’t really do anything for me. And everything was so crowded and close together. The only thing I really wanted to do was see the house from Full House. They painted it all sorts of weird colours so the only way you can recognise it is if you knew which of the six (?) houses it was. I got a picture anyway. Then we drove to Sillicon Valley. We stayed in the town next to Santa Clara, called Sunnyvale, which had a very Stepford feeling to it. I watched The Office. I don’t understand why Jim is still dating Karen when he knows he should be with Pam.

Friday I visited Santa Clara University. I forgot this was my first choice, but I was reminded very quickly. I wanted so much to like SDSU, because I was so taken with San Diego, but Santa Clara is really where I want to be. SDSU only takes 25 students a year, out of a few hundred that apply. Santa Clara you need a higher GPA, but they take in as many students they see fit, and they accept new students three times a year. They will also admit you to the non degree program if they see potential in you, but your GPA and or GRE are not up to par and they give you a quarter to see how you do. I was told to get my GPA up as high as I can and to get some experience volunteering somewhere (it was recommended to me to do an internship, but I don’t have time for that) and then I should be fine.

Then my Mom and I went to the flea market in San Jose to see if I could find a purse, since mine is super falling apart. No such luck. We went to Cupertino to find the Apple Building (not my idea). We had dinner at Tony Roma’s and then went to ComedySportz in San Jose. My Mom got in free because it’s Mother’s day. She tried to convince me to tell them I was in the High School League in Chicago, but I didn’t want to. I don’t even say that to people in Chicago on the rare occasion I go. So she decided to tell them for me, and, as I figured, they did not care, and it was just embarrassing. It was so big and nice I could not believe it. They had a huge box office/concession stand. They were selling shirts that say “I make things up,” which is just brilliant. My Mom was going to buy one for me, but I don’t do improv anymore, so if I wear it, it makes me look like I am a liar. But it goes under my top three CSz shirts I have seen (my Pottymouth one being one and the other was: , d sportz)

Anyway, I was expecting the theatre itself to be amazing. We walk in and it’s an 84 seat theatre and the stage was literally about 20′ x 5′. They could not even fit the benches on it! And they didn’t even have a place for their keyboardist to sit down!! He just stood in back!! it was a freaking joke! Man I thought the old Chicago theatre was a shoebox. boy was I wrong. Oh and even with only 84 seats there were still a few that were empty. The show was really funny. They use some of the same jokes, but some things are different. Ex: they make the audience refer to themselves as “tonight’s loyal fans” and I am used to “audience” and I kept getting confused. They still have the groaner foul, which is nice. The last time I went to the one in Chicago they had thrown it out. I still need to ask about that. Anyway the show was funny and I went through a brief “I miss this so much, I need to get back into it.” Fortunately I had gotten over ti by the time we got to the car. But seeing the CSz show was a nice way to end the trip. I hadn’t really done anything since San Diego.

Today we flew back to Chicago. Everytime I have flown back to Chicago I see Wrigley Field and know I’m home. This time I didn’t feel like I was flying home, I just felt really sad. This trip was to figure out where I am going to move next year. I really want to go to Santa Clara, but I don’t think I could be happy just living there, I would have to be going to school. Anytime I drive somewhere I always go back to where I started. The whole time I was in CA I kept thinking I was going back to San Diego, but it didn’t happen. I just have this really strong feeling that I’m not done there. And I just want to go back. The fact that I can have more fun there while I’m so sick than I can anywhere else is a sign. So I will be moving to San Diego, even if it’s only a year before I have to move elsewhere to go to school. I can always move back after I graduate. But I can see myself being so happy there, and there’s just nowhere else I can imagine being happy right now. So I have to move there. (or maybe I should let the Bears and Chargers vie for my future in a few months…haha not really). So yeah…San Diego. You heard it here first.

If I had been told a few years ago I would be moving to San Diego…I don’t know. I guess I never really knew where I would end up, I just knew I didn’t want it to be Mundelein. I guess I assumed it would be somewhere else in Chicago, just because I couldn’t imagine picking up and moving anywhere and never really thought about it. And it’s kind of scary to think about that, but this feels right. Man.

Anyway, I’m feeling mostly better now, though still a little bit sick. But I have not thrown up since last Saturday!

Also, I had In-N-Out four times. It would have been more, but it did not help me feel any less sick.

But yes…San Diego.

And for those of you who thought my entries could not get any longer…you were wrong .

Leave a Reply

