It’s been freaking hot here. And I don’t mean hot, I mean FREAKING hot. So hot I decided I had to buy a bathing suit to go swimming. Plus Josh invited me to go innertubing today at Fox Ridge with some people, so I had to buy one. The problem is I wound up having to go all the way to Champaign last night to get one. I had a bad feeling about going to Champaign, but I knew if I didn’t then I wouldn’t do anything today and would feel like I wasted my day, since I had been invited to do something. And on the way back home my car decided to break down! I was by myself…on the interstate…in literally the middle of nowhere…at night…in the rain. Yeah it was fun. Fortunately there was a cop nearby and he saw my emergency lights. Thank God I was able to get back. But I have to take it to get looked at. I almost went home this weekend too. Man, that would have happened on the way home. That would have been even worse.

So we went innertubing today and it freaking sucked. It was supposed to be a 2.5 hour trail and wound up being over four hours. Plus the water was so shallow and I kept hitting things. I have a huge painful bruise on my lower right part of my back, and will probably have more bruises tomorrow. Oy.

Apparently Marni got a tattoo while my Dad was out of town this week. I was told it’s an owl on her arm. I don’t understand why anyone would ever want a tattoo.

But this video goes along with that:

I randomly thought about the song “Stars and The Moon” from “Songs for a New World” and felt like I should post the lyrics here, though I’m not sure why. Maybe someone reading this needs to hear it?

I met a man without a dollar to his name
Who had no traits of any value but his smile
I met a man who had no yearn or claim to fame
Who was content to let life pass him for a while
And I was sure that all I ever wanted
Was a life like the movie stars led
And he kissed me right here, and he said,

“I’ll give you stars and the moon and a soul to guide you
And a promise I’ll never go
I’ll give you hope to bring out all the life inside you
And the strength that will help you grow.
I’ll give you truth and a future that’s twenty times better
Than any Hollywood plot.”
And I thought, “You know, I’d rather have a yacht.”

I met a man who lived his life out on the road
Who left a wife and kids in Portland on a whim
I met a man whose fire and passion always showed
Who asked if I could spare a week to ride with him
But I was sure that all I ever wanted
Was a life that was scripted and planned
And he said, “But you don’t understand —

“I’ll give you stars and the moon and the open highway
And a river beneath your feet
I’ll give you day full of dreams if you travel my way
And a summer you can’t repeat.
I’ll give you nights full of passion and days of adventure,
No strings, just warm summer rain.”
And I thought, “You know, I’d rather have champagne.”

I met a man who had a fortune in the bank
Who had retired at age thirty, set for life.
I met a man and didn’t know which stars to thank,
And then he asked one day if I would be his wife.
And I looked up, and all I could think of
Was the life I had dreamt I would live
And I said to him, “What will you give?”

“I’ll give you cars and a townhouse in Turtle Bay
And a fur and a diamond ring
And we’ll be married in Spain on my yacht today
And we’ll honeymoon in Beijing.
And you’ll meet stars at the parties I throw at my villas
In Nice and Paris in June.”

And I thought, “Okay.”
And I took a breath
And I got my yacht
And the years went by
And it never changed
And it never grew
And I never dreamed
And I woke one day
And I looked around
And I thought, “My God…
I’ll never have the moon.”

Leave a Reply

