So it’s official. Ryan Dempster is being moved back into the rotation next year. And if they re-sign Kerry Wood they want to make him the closer.

I’m so confused, because I really thought they wanted to win.

Okay, nothing against Kerry Wood’s pitching ability. I think he would be a really great closer…but 11 trips to the DL and three or four surgeries in 10 seasons = not closer material.

If Kerry Wood doesn’t wind up as closer it’s going to be between Bob Howry and Carlos Marmol. Okay, Bob Howry would be a decent closer, but I like him best as an 8th inning guy (though I definitely prefer him as a closer over Ryan Dempster). Carlos Marmol…Carlos Marmol is amazing, but after the playoffs, I just don’t know if he’s ready to be a closer. But, honestly, I think they should have him close in spring training and see what happens.

Also, I think Kevin Hart should be the 5th starter instead of Dempster. This guy was called up from AA on September 1st and wound up on the playoff roster over guys with 9 years experience in the majors. Not only that, but he was one of like three guys that actually did well in the playoffs.

This is why I’m doing fantasy baseball next year. I think my team will be called “The Chicago Cubs as they SHOULD be” .

Leave a Reply

